Nearby districts: Castlemagner, Kilbrin and Kilcorny-Dromteriffe


Astlemagner Hall AGM

The AGM was held on 9 June in the hall. Vice President Paul Gallagher began the meeting by welcoming everyone and thanking them for taking the time to attend.

Paul said community centers provide a place for people of all ages to gather and socialize, participate in sports, provide a meeting place for the many clubs and organizations in the parish, and join a community center. was in Wide range of activities including drama, dance classes, social, yoga, Irish classes, quiz and more.

Secretary Lisa Murphy gave a comprehensive report of activities as the previous AGM Dennis O’Donoghue gave a financial report that outlined some of the challenges faced by COVID.

An election of officers took place, and the following were elected: Shane O’Connor (President), Paul Gallagher (Vice President), Josephine Vaughn and Audrey O’Donoghue (Joint Treasurer), Catriona McCarthy (Secretary) and Bernie Daly (Assistant Secretary).

Kathleen Moylan thanked the outgoing committee for their work, especially in light of the challenges she faced during her tenure with the COVID restrictions. He congratulated the new committee and wished them success. The representatives of other voluntary committees also wished the new committee success and assured them of their full support.

Discussions were held on future plans and development for the community center and ideas that could be implemented under the Community Center Investment Fund, as announced by Minister Heather Humphries.

clean city

Huge work is being done around the whole parish by many volunteers. The group meets every Tuesday at 7.30 pm and all help is welcome and appreciated.

Abandoned houses in Cecilstown have been repainted to date this year, a tis spring clean from the entire parish, Billy Greene to the grotto was raised with the help and support of our friends at Contork Tidy Town, flower beds And the pots were maintained and replicated, the Adopt One Mile Initiative is going strong, many people keep their road free of litter, keep the villages flowing, weed and clean, the best sustainable and biodiversity The cemetery is cleaned and sanitized following the practices.

The committee in association with CCDA is currently working in the backdrop of some exciting projects that will further enhance both the villages and the community. watch this space. We would ask everyone to please continue to support our work in making the community a better place to live, work and travel.


Presentation to Sean O’Gorman

A presentation to mark the retirement of Sean O’Gorman, as principal of Kilbrin National School, will take place this Friday, June 24 at 11 a.m. in Kilbrin NS. Everyone is welcome to come along, weather permitting this will be an outdoor event. light breakfast.

lotto result

There was no winner of the jackpot. The numbers drawn were -3, 6, 10, 35. Lucky Dips—Pat Breen, CloneRibbon. Dennis Scully, Kilbrin, Samantha Higgins, Ballyhain, Nora O’Connor, Ballyhas, Stephen O’Reilly, Mahanagh.

Golf Classic Award Winner

The Kilbrin GAA Club hosted a very successful Golf Classic in near ideal weather conditions on Saturday 11 June at the exquisitely manicured Conturk Golf Course, which saw a following of prizes.

1. J. McSweeney, N. Foley, A. Madden. 2. N. Meade, V. Meade, D. O’Connell. Gross-P. Fitz, J. Cronin, J. Murphy. 4. T. Fitzpatrick, S. Kelleher, D. O’Keefe. 5. V. Hayes, Tracy Cremin, J. Madigan.6. s. Crowley, W. Heffernan, N. Field. 7. T. O’Riordan, M. O’Riordan, JF Daly. 8. B. Mortel, J. O’Donoghue, O. Daddy. 9. D. Crowley, D. Connell, J. Corbett. 10. D. Buckley, Betty Sheel, D. O’Sullivan Raffle Results, 1. P. O’Callaghan, 2. D. O’Shea, 3. D. Sheehan.

Kilbrin GAA Club would like to thank the following—all of our sponsors. People who played in teams. Secretary and staff of the Konturk Golf Club. Patrick and Brian and Bob’s employees on the Green. Our own organizing committee.

Kilbrin NS Complete Hurling/Football Double

A remarkable bounce allowed Kilbrin to outperform Boherbeau in a battling 7-a-side hurling final, with both sides simultaneously shooting clean touches and precision. Kilbrin set about his task with confidence and energetic effort, making an attacking threat to grab the targets. Billy Hayes and Benjamin Lyon with brothers Jack and Sam Lynch in fine shooting form. In fairness, Boherbeau enjoyed the challenge for Sean O’Connor, Aaron Breen and Darragh Cronin to score encouraging goals. Although faced with pressure, Kilbrin kept his spirits up and took home the deserving winners.

Kilbrin: Billy O’Callaghan, Conor O’Day, Ryan Casey, Jack Lynch, Scott O’Reilly, Billy Hayes, Sean O’Riordan, Daniel Daly, Sam Lynch, Benjamin Lyon.

croc rovers

Good for U11 football players who won the Brian Cronin Memorial Cup on their way to the finals last Saturday by defeating McRoom, Slybh Luachara Gayle and Canovy, and after a very difficult game against Kilmoor, they won the Cup by a point margin. took.

Progressive 45 Drive Card Game

A progressive 45 card game takes place every Wednesday night at Kilbrin Social Club. Very comfortable setting, come along and if you don’t have a partner we’ll get one for you. Admission is €5, nightly raffle too. everyone is welcome


Don’t miss our bingo every Monday night at 8.30 pm, why not come along and enjoy your game in a comfortable environment. We would like to thank all our patrons who come in large numbers. Without them there would have been no bingo and no craze. Jackpot €1200. Kilbrin Cemetery. As we all know the cemetery in Kilbrin is beautifully kept, it takes a lot of work to keep it that way, we can’t expect the same people to be working all the time so we are looking for a little help . For people to give a helping hand, please contact John on 087 2550340 if you are that person.

Kilbrin Golf Society

The Kilbrin Golf Society held its fourth event of the year in Newcastle West last Saturday 18 June. 15 players took the course in ideal weather conditions, with the following results. first. Michael Murphy, Breeze Buckley, Anne O’Sullivan. another. Dan O’Sullivan, Shane Crawley, Betty O’Connor. third. Brian McKesey, Nilus Buckley, Pat O’Grady. The next outing for the society is on July 9 for Dungarvan.


The Kilbrin community sends its deepest sympathies to the Hannon family, at the tragic loss of their beloved mother, Anne. Maybe she is resting in peace.


The Community Council can be contacted at [email protected] for any queries. Whether you’re at home or abroad, if you have anything you’d like to share with the wider community, we’d love to hear from you.


Dennis Horgan Social Bowling Club

Jackie Daly and Liam Casey Contests: Dean Sexton – 10 points, Danny Murphy – 5 points, Ned Kelleher – 15 points, Alan Sexton – 4 points, Sam Ahern – 14 points, Maurice Cashman – 12 points, Edmund Sexton – 1 point, Eugene O’Sullivan – 12 points, John Breen – 12 points, Patrick Sexton 2 points.

John Cummins Competitions: Ned Kelleher – 12 points, Eugene O’Sullivan – 5 points. Edmund Sexton 1 point. John Breen -2 points, Dean Sexton – 1 point.