Two Irish writers are in the running for this year’s Booker Prize

Irish authors Audrey Magee and Claire Keegan have been named to this year’s long list of Booker Prizes.

T 116 Page, Claire Keegans little things like this The shortest book recognized in the history of the award. The shortest novel to win the award was Offshore by Penelope Fitzgerald (1979) on 132 pages.


Little Things Like This by Claire Keegan

Ms. Keegan was raised on a farm in Ko Wicklow, and at the age of 17 she traveled to New Orleans, where she studied English and political science at Loyola University.

She returned to Ireland in 1992, and the first volume of her highly acclaimed short stories – antarctica – was published in 1999. His first novel, nutritiveWon the 2009 Davy Byrnes Irish Writing Award and was named by the Times as one of the top 50 novels to be published in the 21st century.

little things like this It has been described as “both a celebration of compassion and a harsh rebuke of sins committed in the name of religion”.

Set in 1985 in an Irish town during the weeks leading up to Christmas, the novel tells the story of Bill Furlong, a coal and timber merchant, as he faces his busiest season.


Colony by Audrey Magee

Fellow Wicklow native Audrey Magee is nominated for her novel, colony, which details the experience of two men from France and England, who travel to an island off the west coast of Ireland, “to encapsulate the truth of the place—one in his paintings, the other in his faithfulness of his speech.” With rendering, the language he hopes to preserve”.

However, the people of the island have their own views on what is being recorded.

For twelve years, Audrey Magee worked as a journalist, among others, irish times, Observer And this Guardian. His first novel, Accountability, the Women’s Prize for Fiction, was short-listed for France’s PRIX du Premier Roman and Irish Book Awards. It was also nominated for the Dublin Literary Award and the Walter Scott Award for Historical Fiction.

video of the day

This year’s Booker Prize was selected from 169 novels published between 1 October 2021 and 30 September 2022 and submitted for the prize by publishers.

The long list includes the youngest and oldest authors to date, including 20-year-old Leila Motley and octogenarian Alan Garner, who will celebrate her 88th birthday on the night of the winning ceremony.

Three debut novelists Maddie Mortimer, Leila Motley and Selby Wynn Schwartz made the list, while previously-selected authors Noviolette Bulawayo, Karen Joy Fowler and Graeme McRae Burnett and already-listed Elizabeth Strout are also recognized.

Neil McGregor, chairman of the 2022 judging panel, said: “The list offers story, fable and parable, fantasy, mystery, meditation and thriller.

“The skill with which authors shape and maintain those various fictional worlds, and allow others to live in them, has been our main criterion in proposing this long list of 13 books. Exceptionally Well Written and carefully crafted, in any genre, they seem to us to exploit and expand what language can do. The list we have chosen is story, fiction and parable, fantasy, mystery, meditation and thriller.

The Booker Prize is open to works by authors of any nationality, written in English and published in the UK or Ireland.

The long list for 2022 includes:

  • Novalet Bulawayo (Zimbabwe) splendor
  • Hernan Diaz (American) Confidence
  • Percival Everett (American) tree
  • Karen Joy Fowler (American) the booth
  • Alan Garner (British) trek walker
  • Shehan Karunatilaka (Sri Lanka) Seven Moons of Mali Almeida
  • Claire Keegan (Irish) little things like this
  • Graeme McCray Burnett (British) Study the matter
  • Audrey Magee (Irish) colony
  • Maddie Mortimer (British) Maps of Our Fantastic Bodies
  • Leela Motley (American) crawling in the night
  • Selby Wynn Schwartz (American) After Sappho
  • Elizabeth Stroud (American) Oh William!